Review of Last God Standing by Michael Boatman

2

February 24, 2014 by mmileti

Image

Last God Standing is yet another book that I have trouble relegating to one genre.  The premise of the novel is what would happen if God took some time off to pursue life as a human.  The book is part Urban Fantasy, and part comedy, but I would hesitate to truly classify the book as either.

            When God abandons his post as a deity, he plans on getting the real human experience as an average guy.  His name is Lando Cooper, a young man who is struggling through life like all the rest of us, and who aspires to be a stand-up comedian.  Unfortunately, by taking a sabbatical God has left a power vacuum, and the rest of Earth’s gods are vying to take his place.  Lando will now have to survive attacks from other gods, block the ascension of a murderous new god, and keep his humanity in the process.

            I enjoyed this novel, but found it to be very fast paced, and not very descriptive.  In fact, I felt like it read a lot like a movie or television script instead of a novel.  I also had trouble really connecting with Lando, which makes sense because he is a god, but I also struggled a lot with feeling sympathetic to his human side.   Also the mythology in the book was extremely varied, but sometimes I felt like it was a bit over the top.  It was fairly similar to the mythology of the Iron Druid Chronicles, but all packed in to one average length novel rather than spread out over a series.  The writing was good, and at some points even made me laugh out loud, but it was not the best book I have ever read.  I would be curious to read more by Boatman in the future, especially since the premise for this novel was so intriguing. 

            The worst part of the whole book in my opinion is the cover.  When I first saw this novel, I assumed it was cheaply made for a self-published author, and was surprised when I realized that this novel was actually published by Angry Robot, especially since I love every other novel cover I have seen from this publisher.  I hope the cover does not hurt the sales of a book which was a fun, fast-paced read, even though the story was not excellent.

            Overall, I would rate this book a 6.5/10.

            I received a copy of this book from Netgalley and the publisher in return for an honest review.

 

2 thoughts on “Review of Last God Standing by Michael Boatman

  1. I hemmed and hawed and ultimately decided I didn’t want to pick this one up. Looks like I made th right choice. Comedy is hard, you have to have timing down and so many times I read it and shake my head. A book like this would live and die on that.

  2. mmileti says:

    I agree, and I love comedy if it is done right. I think that Christopher Moore’s books are a good example of this. But this book did not quite get there in my opinion.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 121 other followers

Contact Information

If you would like to submit a book for review, or you have any questions about Avid Reviews, you can contact me by email: mrmileti(at)gmail(dot)com

(The writing in the parentheses is substituted for symbols to deter SPAM and bots who gather email addresses. Obviously substitute for the actual symbols to send me an email!)

if(typeof(networkedblogs)=="undefined"){networkedblogs={};networkedblogs.blogId=1430329;networkedblogs.shortName="avid-reviews";}
