Review + Giveaway: The Letting by Cathrine GoldStein

1

December 15, 2014 by mmileti

the letting

The Letting

by Cathrine Goldstein 

Release Date: 12/15/14

335 pages

Summary:

What if the Devil doesn’t know he’s the Devil?

This is the question Veronica “Ronnie” Billings poses to Phoenix, her sworn enemy, the leader of the Peaceful Revolution, and the one she loves.

Kidnapped by Phoenix’s rebels, Ronnie learns how wrong she has been. She had no idea that her patriotism was wasted on a corrupt government. Ronnie was proud to be a Leader; taking hundreds of harvested girls to the Letting facility. After all, she was saving them from future Couplings and bringing them to the safety of the New World. Or so she thought…

Confused, Ronnie realizes the only way to discover the truth is to trust her heart. Together, Phoenix and Ronnie devise a plan to stop their corrupt government and preempt the dangerous rebel coup which is approaching. But when their plan goes awry, will Ronnie be strong enough to save Phoenix, her country, and herself?

Add to Goodreads

Buy Links:

Amazon

My Review:

The Letting is a dystopian novel at its heart, but reads more like a combination of a horror and a thriller genres.  Though it has one of the strangest and most chilling premises I have come across, I found that I really enjoyed Goldstein’s world building.  In another author’s hands the idea behind this story could have easily become baffling and far too elaborate for most readers, but Goldstein presents her premise by weaving it through a rapid-paced and engrossing plot that is backed up by an intricate setting.  She cleverly leads the reader through the shock of the protagonist’s (Veronica’s) discovery of the truth of her world, and her horrifying role in it.  In this way, a premise that I would have thought was a bit absurd if it had been presented in a different manner actually helped engage me in a story that kept me on the edge of my seat from start to finish.

Veronica is an extremely well-developed character, and is impossible not to sympathize with her despite what she has done.  She is a strong character with a huge heart, and the obstacles she faces are immense.  I also thought the secondary characters in the novel were well-developed; even the children that Veronica cares for are each incredibly unique.  It is often difficult to develop non-POV characters, especially children, but Goldstein does it with apparent ease.  Her writing seems designed to capture the reader’s attention and emotions, and the story that she tells is complex, terrifying and inspirational.

I would recommend this novel to anyone that is a fan of the dystopian genre, even those who believe that they are sick of it because of the sheer number of cliches that are associated with a genre that is currently flooded with new authors. The Letting is a unique story, and the manner it is told is thrillingly distinctive.  The plot is engrossing and the breakneck pacing never lets up.  The novel’s themes are serious and relevant.  The characters seem real and relatable.  For all these reasons and more, I applaud Goldstein for writing a novel that I read cover to cover, and am now impatiently awaiting the sequel.

My Rating: 8/10

I received a copy of this novel from YA Bound Book Tours and the author in return for an honest review.

Trailer:

http://youtu.be/rF08yLsLSPE

cathrine goldstein

About the Author:

Given my love for cities and all that is gritty, my new obsession with trees really has me stumped. (Sorry.) Maybe it’s because trees are the inspiration behind my new YA/NA novel, theLETTING.

Whatever the reason for my new infatuation, some things remain constant — like my love for: coffee (although sadly, it’s now decaf); yoga; Luna bars (I am petitioning for them to bring back Chocolate Raspberry!); running in my neighborhood; Hemingway; Bukowski… and, above all, my husband and my girls.

I am the author of the bestselling novel, Sleeping With Mortals: The Story of a New York Mistress, and I’m also a playwright. I have my B.A. in English and my M.A. in Theatre.

WebsiteGoodreadsTwitterFacebook

GIVEAWAY:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

YA Bounk Tour Button

One thought on “Review + Giveaway: The Letting by Cathrine GoldStein

  1. lissiet says:

    Sounds good, I will have to add this to my TBR!
    New follower 🙂
    Missie @ A Flurry of Ponderings
    Enter my blog birthday giveaway!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 120 other followers

Contact Information

If you would like to submit a book for review, or you have any questions about Avid Reviews, you can contact me by email: mrmileti(at)gmail(dot)com

(The writing in the parentheses is substituted for symbols to deter SPAM and bots who gather email addresses. Obviously substitute for the actual symbols to send me an email!)

if(typeof(networkedblogs)=="undefined"){networkedblogs={};networkedblogs.blogId=1430329;networkedblogs.shortName="avid-reviews";}
